Skip to main content
Back to Resources
Guides

AI Consulting Costs in Australia and NZ: 2026 Mid-Market Survey

Andrew MeakinUpdated 9 min read

AI consulting that changes how a mid-market business works usually costs tens of thousands of dollars, and business-wide programmes cost more. Specialist providers that publish prices for that work list A$25,000 to A$250,000. Australian federal contracts with large firms price AI and data work from A$143,000 to A$1.68 million.

You'll also see AI consulting advertised from A$495. Those prices are real, but they buy something different: a readiness checklist, a short workshop or a small fixed engagement, often credited against a larger build. This survey sets out what each level of work costs and what the difference in price buys.

We checked provider websites and published contract analysis on 28 September 2026. ELab AI's own published prices are included and marked as ours.

How We Built This Survey

We included a price only when the provider publishes it for its own service, or when it comes from public contract data. Market ranges quoted without a source were left out, and so were hourly rates. An hourly rate says nothing about what you'll receive, and consultancies working with larger businesses price by scope. GST is shown as each provider states it; where a page doesn't say, we've written "not stated".

This isn't a representative sample. The providers most likely to publish prices are those selling small, fixed offers. Most consultancies that work with larger businesses quote each engagement instead, and Aivy's August 2026 survey found none of the nine largest Australian consulting providers publishes rates for AI services. Treat the figures as reference points, not a benchmark or an endorsement.

Prices change. Check the provider's current page before relying on any figure here.

The Short Answer: What You Buy Decides the Price

What You're BuyingPublished RangeTypical Output
Entry offerFree to about A$5,500A readiness checklist, opportunity list, short workshop or prototype
Single-workflow projectNZ$12,000 to NZ$30,000; from A$25,000One capability built, tested and handed over
Business-wide programmeNZ$50,000+; A$50,000 to A$250,000Several workflows, knowledge and data work, integration, adoption and governance
Large-firm government contractA$143,000 to A$1.68 millionStrategy, design or platform work for a federal department

The gap between the first row and the rest isn't a markup. It reflects how much of the business the work touches, how senior the people doing it are and whether anything is built, integrated and adopted by your team.

Published Prices for Projects and Programmes

These are the published prices for work beyond a first step, largest first.

ProviderServicePublished PriceGST as Published
Team 400 (AU)Custom AI projectsTypically A$50,000 to A$250,000Not stated
Implement AI (NZ)AI TransformationNZ$50,000+Not stated
Team 400 (AU)Fast Packages for focused AI solutionsFrom A$25,000Not stated
Implement AI (NZ)AI ImplementationNZ$12,000 to NZ$30,000Not stated
FlowWorks (AU)ImplementationsA$3,500 to A$25,000+Not stated
Nexus Digital (AU)Ongoing system management and one new workflow a quarterFrom A$3,000 a monthNot stated

Team 400 says its custom range depends on integration requirements, data complexity and scale. Those three factors explain most of the difference between a small and a large AI project in any market.

What Large Firms Charge

Large consulting firms don't publish AI rates, but Australian federal contracts are public. Aivy's analysis of AusTender contract notices lists AI, automation and data contracts with Deloitte, EY, Accenture and McKinsey from A$143,000 to A$1,683,000, including GST.

Dividing each contract by its working days, Aivy estimates whole-team day rates of about A$1,959 to A$20,524. AI strategy and planning contracts in its list range from A$148,500 to A$275,000.

Government work carries procurement, security and reporting requirements that most private businesses won't need. Treat these figures as the top of the market, not a mid-market price.

Entry Offers and Small Engagements

These are the low prices you're most likely to see advertised. Most are first steps: an assessment, a sprint or a prototype that leads into a larger scope.

ProviderServicePublished PriceGST as Published
Implement AI (NZ)AI Readiness AssessmentNZ$3,500 to NZ$5,000Not stated
Free Me Up (AU)90-Day AI PilotFrom A$5,500Plus GST
FlowWorks (AU)AssessmentsFrom A$1,500Not stated
Kiwi AI (NZ)Discovery and Prototype, credited against a buildNZ$990 (usually NZ$2,999)Not stated

Aivy also lists unnamed Australian specialists publishing a A$495 readiness blueprint, a A$1,999 discovery and roadmap and a two-week readiness sprint at A$4,950 plus GST.

An entry offer can be useful on its own if it leaves you with something you can act on. Ask what you'd hold at the end if you stopped there, and what the next stage would cost.

Why Advertised Prices Skew Low

Three things pull the visible prices down:

  • Who publishes. Fixed, small offers are easy to price on a website. Work across several teams isn't, so it's quoted.
  • Who they're for. Many published offers are aimed at small businesses, where a single automation or a workshop is the right scope.
  • What they leave out. An entry price rarely includes integration with your systems, preparing your knowledge and data, governance or the time it takes for a team to change how it works.

Aivy found AI strategy deliverables with similar names priced at A$495 from a specialist and A$275,000 in a federal contract. The label is the same; the work isn't.

What a Mid-Market Engagement Includes

For a business of 20 to 500 people, the cost of AI work sits mostly in the parts an entry offer doesn't cover:

  • Knowledge and data. Access, quality checks, permissions and structure for the documents, systems and records the work depends on. This is often the largest single piece of work.
  • Integration. Connecting AI to your CRM, finance, maintenance or practice systems, with testing and security review.
  • Several teams. Workshops, process mapping and decisions across the people who do and review the work.
  • Governance. Owners, review points, privacy checks and the controls your board or clients will expect.
  • Adoption. Training, operating procedures and support while people change how they work.
  • Ongoing management. Monitoring, updates and changes after launch.

That's the difference between a tool a few people try and a capability the business runs on. Our comparison of advisory, consultancy and enablement explains the scopes in more detail, and our AI enablement page sets out how we deliver the full programme.

AI Training for Leadership Teams

Training is where published prices are most common, because the scope is easier to define. Open courses teach general skills to individuals. Private programmes work on your own business with your leadership team.

ProviderProgrammePublished PriceGST as Published
ELab AIManagement programmes, 12 taught hours, one to five participantsNZ$10,000 per businessPlus GST
ELab AIAI for Owner Operators, six taught hours, privateNZ$5,000 per businessPlus GST
GenAI TrainingTwo-week team workshop programme, up to seven peopleNZ$6,000Plus GST
GenAI TrainingAI Roadmap Workshop for Leaders, two hours, up to 15 peopleNZ$1,500Plus GST
University of AucklandAI Essentials, one day, open enrolmentNZ$1,259 a personIncluding GST

ELab AI's programmes include preparation, learning materials, applied exercises and a capability review. Software, travel and implementation are excluded.

Co-Funding Can Change the Net Cost

New Zealand. MBIE's AI Advisory Pilot co-funds up to 50% of eligible advisory costs, capped at NZ$15,000, and runs to 31 January 2027. Eligibility for the business, provider and engagement is confirmed through the Regional Business Partner Network. ELab AI isn't a selected provider for the current pilot.

Australia. The Australian Government's AI Adopt Centres offer free specialist services to eligible SMEs, including training, consultations and roadmaps. That support is delivered through the centres and doesn't fund a private consulting engagement.

Funding should support a decision you'd make anyway. It shouldn't decide which project you buy.

How to Compare AI Consulting Quotes

Ask every provider to price the same brief, then check these points:

  1. Deliverables. What will you receive, and how will you know it's finished?
  2. Who does the work. Which senior people are involved, and for how much of the engagement?
  3. Knowledge and data work. Who prepares, checks and maintains the sources the work depends on?
  4. Your team's time. Who needs to be involved, for how long and when?
  5. First-year total. Add the upfront fee, 12 months of any monthly fees, licences and usage. Confirm currency and GST in writing.
  6. The path to production. If the quote is an entry offer, what does the next stage cost?

If you're not sure what to brief yet, our AI Readiness Assessment gives you a starting view across people, process, knowledge and data, then technology. Our Australian and New Zealand consulting guides cover scope, evidence and funding in more detail.

Where ELab AI Sits

We work with mid-market businesses in New Zealand and Australia, mainly in general business and professional services, as well as industrial operators and investment managers. In New Zealand, most start at around 20 people. Our engagements start from NZ$5,000 plus GST and are scoped for that kind of business, so most are priced well above the entry offers in this survey. We agree the scope and fees before work starts.

We publish our training prices because the scope is fixed. Consulting and implementation are quoted, because the right scope depends on the workflows, the knowledge and data involved and how much your team wants to own. An engagement can finish with a plan your team carries forward, or continue through implementation and ongoing management. See AI consulting in New Zealand or AI consulting in Australia for how we work.

Citing This Survey

You're welcome to quote or cite these figures. Please link to this page and credit "ELab AI, AI Consulting Price Survey, checked 28 September 2026". If you publish prices for your own AI consulting or training services in Australia or New Zealand and would like them considered for the next update, send us the page.

Getting Started

If you're comparing quotes or working out what to brief, take our AI Readiness Assessment first. It helps you define the work before you price it.

If you'd like a scoped quote for your own business, tell us about your business. You don't need a complete brief. If you'd prefer to choose a time, book a conversation.

AI ConsultingAI Consulting CostAI Consulting AustraliaAI Consulting NZAI TrainingAI Pricing

Frequently Asked Questions

Work that changes how a mid-market business operates usually costs tens of thousands of dollars. Published prices for single projects start around A$25,000 or NZ$12,000, and business-wide programmes run from NZ$50,000 and A$50,000 to A$250,000. Integration, knowledge and data work and the number of teams involved decide where a project sits. ELab AI engagements start from NZ$5,000 plus GST.

Published Australian prices checked on 28 September 2026 range from A$495 entry offers to custom projects of A$50,000 to A$250,000. Federal contracts with large firms for AI and data work range from A$143,000 to A$1.68 million. Most consultancies working with larger businesses quote rather than publish prices.

Published New Zealand prices range from a free opportunity map to NZ$12,000 to NZ$30,000 for an implementation and NZ$50,000 or more for a transformation programme. Many NZ consultancies don't publish prices, so ask for a scoped quote with GST stated.

Low published prices are usually entry offers: a readiness checklist, a workshop or a small fixed engagement, often credited against a larger build. They rarely include integration, knowledge and data preparation, governance or team adoption. Ask what you'd have at the end and what the next stage costs.

They don't publish rates. Aivy's analysis of Australian federal contracts shows AI, automation and data contracts with Deloitte, EY, Accenture and McKinsey from A$143,000 to A$1.68 million, or roughly A$1,959 to A$20,524 per working day for the whole team.

Open courses cost around NZ$1,259 a person for a day. Private programmes for a leadership team cost more because they work on your own business. ELab AI's programmes cost NZ$5,000 plus GST for an owner-operator and NZ$10,000 plus GST per business for a management team of up to five.

Choose the Right Starting Point for Your Business

Tell us what you'd like your business to do better, or where you're getting stuck with AI. A few sentences are enough.

From ELab AI

In the Loop Newsletter

Model releases worth paying attention to, practical lessons from client work and useful ways to apply AI inside your business.